Staff Contact:

Bobby Allen Roach

Public Relations

photo of Phi Theta Kappa inductees standing on the stairs outside of the Temple Building on DCC's campus

Faculty advisors and officers of the Upsilon Phi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society at Danville Community College recognized 33 students as new inductees into the organization during a ceremony on Friday, March 24, in Oliver Hall of DCC’s Temple Building.


Phi Theta Kappa Inducts 33 Students


(March 24, 2017)  – The Upsilon Phi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) inducted 33 Danville Community College students during a ceremony on Friday, March 24, in Oliver Hall.
The students come to DCC from areas throughout the college’s service region, including the City of Danville, Pittsylvania County, and parts of Halifax County.
Those inducted were Jennifer Bates, Katherine Brackin, Bridget Carter, Zachary William Tyler Chandler, Diana Cisneros-Morales, Mia Danko, Hannah Elliott, McKenzi Flippen, Sarah George, Conner Harris, Cameryn Hughes, Heather Hughes, Marissa Hupp, Maxwell Johnson, Michael Jones, Christopher Luther, Struan McConahey, Megan Melton, Ty-Nia Mitchell, Nicole Morris, Tara Morris, Mary Owen, Katherine Patterson, Maria Salazar Avila, Jesse Saunders, Rebecca Scarce, Miranda Thomas, Sarah Tucker, Maggie Turner, Natasha Van Ness, Dreama White, Jeffrey Williams, and Jacqueline Willis.
Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society was established in 1918 and serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,100 chapters located throughout the United States, U.S. territories, Canada, Germany, and Japan. In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.
Faculty advisors for the Upsilon Phi chapter are Sherry F. Gott, Vickie H. Taylor, and Christopher Pantazis. PTK officers at DCC are President Nicholas Hines, Vice President Kellie Wyatt, Secretary and Fellowship Chair Luanne Davis, Leadership Co-Chair Maida Choudhery, Leadership Co-Chair Sarah George, Scholarship Chair Linda Struchen, Service Chair Tremayne Coleman, and Historian Hannah Elliott.
Danville Community College offers a variety of academic and extracurricular opportunities for students from leadership opportunities with the Student Government Association to competitive athletics in baseball and volleyball.
 For more information about Phi Theta Kappa, contact Vickie Taylor at 434-797-8452 or or visit


1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..