Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



DCC Students Inducted in Phi Theta Kappa

Danville Community College spring inductees in Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, shown, left to right, are: (first row) Cody Strader, Donna Carter, Sparkle Fuller, Justin Nichols, Rhonda May, and Jaleel Younger; (second row) Kacey Wageman, James Walker, Krista McBride, Esther Cruz, Terrance Davis and Sylvia Seamons; (back row) Phyllis Bradley, LaShenna Neville, Sharon Wright, Carla Llana, Alison Hall, Cristen Gauldin, Aron Womack and Jeanette Moon. Not pictured are Laurel Leigh Izquierdo, Rachel Lea Scott, Carole Townes, Cody Willis, Larry M. Wyatt, Michael David Deane, Jeremy Kyle Hill, and John Jacob Kiser.

DANVILLE, VA, February 24, 2015 – Twenty-eight Danville Community College students were recently inducted into the DCC chapter (Upsilon Phi) of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year college students. The DCC chapter is celebrating its 45th anniversary. The ceremony also featured remarks from Delegate Donald Merricks.

The student inductees included:
City of Danville Residents
Donna M. Carter
Sparkle Renee Fuller
Alison Elizabeth Hall
Laurel Leigh Izquierdo
Carla Llana
Rhonda Gilb May
LaShenna Neville
Justin Scott Nichols
Rachel Lea Scott
Carole Townes
Cody Willis
Aron Womack
Larry M. Wyatt
Jaleel Anthony Younger

Pittsylvania County Residents
Phyllis J. Bradley, Blairs
Esther Adilene Cruz-Herrera, Axton
Terrance Montrel Davis, Ringgold
Michael David Deane, Cascade
Cristen Elizabeth Gauldin, Axton
Jeremy Kyle Hill, Keeling
Krista Brooke McBride, Dry Fork
Jeanette Mae Moon, Gretna
Kacey Leann Wageman, Hurt
Sharon K. Wright, Chatham

Halifax County-area Residents
Sylvia C. Seamons, South Boston
James William Walker, Alton

Other Residents
John Jacob Kiser, Richmond, TX
Cody Hunter Strader, Providence, NC

The 2014-15 chapter officers are: Steve Oake, President; Roxanne Jacobs, Vice President; Amber Moser and Deisy Vela, Secretaries; Susan Richard, Scholarship; Roxanne Jacobs, Leadership; Steve Oake and Bill Motley, Service; Terrance Davis, Fellowship; and Dana Young, Historian. Chapter advisors are Sherry F. Gott, Associate Professor of English; Vickie H. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Sociology; and Christopher Pantazis, Instructor of Biology.


Copyright © 2015  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..