Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



DCC Phi Theta Kappa Inductees Group

Danville Community College students were recently inducted in Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year college students. The fall inductees, shown, left to right are: (first row) Kristina Gatewood, Michele Malanot, Donnie Shiflett, Nicholas Reynolds, Jody Bussell, Phillip Ashby, Ralph Hewlett, Jr. and Angela White; (second row) Karen Riddle, Bichngoc Tran, Jessica Lutz Pelletier, Michelle Gryder, Autumn Hutcherson, Christine Llana, Dana Young and Jessie Newby; (third row) Cheyenne Gargus, Julia Hill, Joel Moschler, Bill Motley, Whitney Powell, Jessica Cassidy, Melanie Turner and Deisy Rivera Vela; (back row) Nicholas Conner.

DANVILLE, VA, November 7, 2014 – Thirty-two Danville Community College students were recently inducted into the DCC chapter (Upsilon Phi) of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year college students. The ceremony also featured remarks by Stephanie Ramsey Ferrugia, Program Director, with “Get Fit? Dan River Region.

The student inductees included:
City of Danville Residents
Phillip Alan Ashby
Jody L. Bussell
Cheyenne Rae Gargus
Kristina Almashy Gatewood
Michelle Renee Gryder
Julia Lauren Hill
Autumn Paige Hutcherson
Christine Llana
Joel Andrew Moschler
Bill Burch Motley
Susan A. Richard
Donnie R. Shiflett
Courtney Dawn Smithers
Bich Ngoc Le Tran
Melanie E. Turner
Angela DeCarol White

Pittsylvania County Residents
Jessica Nicole Lang, Blairs
Jessica Denise-Lutz Pelletier, Blairs
Jermar Shante’ Hairston, Cascade
Jessie Lauren Newby, Chatham
Karen Beth Riddle, Chatham
Nicholas Carter Reynolds, Gretna
Dana Gayle Young, Ringgold
Tyler Edward Capps, Sutherlin
Magin Louise Knott, Sutherlin

Halifax County-area Residents
Ralph Halstead Hewlett, Alton
Nicholas Blake Conner, South Boston
Whitney Mae Powell, South Boston
Gabrielle Makenzi Winters, South Boston
Michele C. Malanot, Skipwith

Other Residents
Deisy Denisse Rivera Vela, Bassett
Jessica Lynn Cassidy, Providence, NC

The 2014-15 chapter officers are: Misty Bridgen, President; Steve Oake, Vice President; Taylor Lester, Secretary; Steve Oake and Veronica Smith, Service Chairs; Sherita Howard, Fellowship Chair; Veronica Smith, Leadership Chair; Roxanne Jacobs, Scholarship Chair and Dana Young, Historian. Chapter advisors are Sherry F. Gott, Associate Professor of English; Christopher Pantazis, Instructor of Biology; and Vickie H. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Sociology.


Copyright © 2014  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..