Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



Dr. Bruce Scism, DCC President Va Secretary of Commerce and Trade Maurice Jones Phi Theta Kappa Graduates SGA Teacher of the Year Chris Pantazis
Dr. Bruce Scism, DCC President  Virginia Secretary of Commerce & Trade Maurice Jones  Happy Graduates Biology Instructor Chris Pantazis is SGA Teacher of the Year
Courtney Hill and PTK Advisors  DCC Graduates  William Gentry Jr. 

Spencer Walker 

Courtney Hill honored with Two Top Phi Theta Kappa awards  DCC Graduates Businessman William Gentry Jr. receives honorary degree Spencer Walker receives Stephanie Ferguson Medallion of Courage award

















Click here to see more commencement photos 

Click here to see a complete listing of the 2014 Graduates


DANVILLE, VA., May 16, 2014 – More than 500 certificates, diplomas and associate degrees were handed out at Danville Community College’s 2014 Commencement, held at Carrington Pavilion in Danville. This year’s ceremony also included special awards and scholarship presentation, along with the awarding of an honorary degree to a local businessman.

Virginia’s Secretary of Commerce and Trade Maurice Jones was the speaker. Jones was appointed to his new post in January 2014 by Governor Terry McAuliffe. Jones previously served as Deputy Secretary for the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) from April 2012 through January 2014. An Honorary Associate in Humane Letters Degrees was presented to William J. Gentry, Jr., a local businessman, for his contributions to higher education, the region’s workforce services, and especially to Danville Community College.

Scholarship recipients who are continuing their education at four-year institutions were also recognized during the ceremony. They are: Abdullah N. Nasir, Daniel E. Rowles, Terry J. Adams, Courtney R. Hill, D’Andrea R. Logan, Morgan L. Jones, and Holly E. Standen, who all received Barksdale Honor Scholarships; Elizabeth K. Sauls, James Bustard Endowed Scholarship; Kristopher J. Marchick, Casey R. Simpkins and Elizabeth A. Johnson, all James T. Catlin, Jr. – Kiwanis Scholarship; Gabrielle Winters, DCC Delius-Rorrer History Medallion Scholarship; Morgan L. Jones and Haley K. Looney, both McGovern General Excellency Award; Laura Gibson, Bobby Stinespring Jr. Memorial Scholarship; and Daniel E. Rowles, D. Randolph (Randy) Davis Memorial Graduation Scholarship.

Christopher Pantazis, Instructor of Biology, was honored with the Student Government Association's (SGA) Teacher of the Year Award, presented by Vivica Wilson, SGA President. Pantazis was cited for his dedication, concern for students.

The Stephanie L. Ferguson Medallion of Courage was presented to Spencer C. Walker of Keeling. Walker is graduating with two Information Systems Technology Associate of Applied Science Degrees – one in Computer Programming and the other in Gaming and Mobile Application Development. At the age of 21, Walker joined the U.S. Air Force, and while serving in the military he suffered a gunshot injury which left him partially paralyzed and wheel-chair bound. Despite physical challenges, Walker has maintained an “A? average and he is graduating Magna Cum Laude. He also is a member of the Alpha Beta Gamma and Phi Theta Kappa honor societies, and serves as vice president of the DCC Programming Club. The Ferguson Medallion of Courage is presented in memory of a DCC student who faced many challenges in continuing her education.

The certificates, diplomas, and associate degrees in 68 different program areas were conferred upon graduates by DCC President Dr. Bruce Scism and Dr. Chris Ezell, Vice President of Academic and Student Services.


Copyright © 2014  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..