Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



Service Awards Recipients

Danville Community College employees recognized for their years of service to the Commonwealth of Virginia are shown, left to right: (front row): Kathy Evans, Angie McAdams, Tammy Jackson, Teresa Sawyers, Juanita Williams, Nancy Combs, Bridgett Poole, Connie Wann and Lynn Turner; (back row): Carol Thomas, Melissa Jones-Cross, Walter Easley, George Turnbull, Helen Meadors, Kristin von Karowsky-Nelson and Dee Drinkard. Not pictured are: Jeff Arnold, Elizabeth Astin, Del Pool and Ruth Whitt.

DANVILLE, VA, May 15, 2014 – Faculty, staff and administrators at Danville Community College were honored recently for their service to the Commonwealth of Virginia. The awards ranged from 45 years to five years of service. The program marked the 34th year the DCC Board has recognized college employees. Awards were presented by DCC President Dr. Bruce Scism; Dr. Chris Ezell, Vice President of Academic and Student Services; and Scott Barnes, Vice President of Financial and Administrative Services.

Juanita Williams, Administrative & Program Specialist III in the Arts & Sciences Division, was honored for 45 years of service. Helen Meadors, Assistant Professor of English, was recognized for 40 years of service. Connie Wann, Executive Assistant to the President, was honored for 35 years of service, while George Turnbull, Associate Professor of Electrical/Electronics, was honored for 30 years of service.

In addition, those recognized for 20 years of service included Jeff Arnold, Vice President of Workforce Services; Melissa Jones-Cross, Administrative & Office Specialist III in the Workforce Services Division; and Carol Thomas, Administrative & Office Specialist III in the Business Office. Nancy Combs, Administrative Assistant to the Vice President of Academic and Student Services, was honored for 15 years.

Others honored included: Elizabeth Astin, Dee Drinkard, Kathy Evans, Tammy Jackson, Bridgett Poole, Teresa Sawyers, Lynn Turner, Kristin von Karowsky-Nelson and Ruth Whitt, all 10 years of service; and Walter Easley, Angela McAdams and Del Pool, all five years of service.


Copyright © 2014  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..