Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



Phi Theta Kappa Group

Danville Community College students were recently inducted in Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year college students. The spring inductees are shown, left to right: (first row) Charlotte Brooks, Chao Zhou, Karli Tate, Ashley Francisco, Hannah Schweitzer, Hayla Remines, Sarah Doss and Veronica Smith; (second row) Lonnie R. Deshazor, Jr., Hayley Looney, LaKeesha Watson, Megan Elgin, Mykhael Thomas, Christine Brummell Daniel, Delores Ford and Bernard Fitz, Jr.; (back row) Kristopher Marchick, Christopher L. Kendall, Gloria C. Sadoski, Lindsey M. Thorne, Tyler L. Catron and Tiffany Harrison.

DANVILLE, VA, February 24, 2014 – Thirty-five Danville Community College students were recently inducted in the Upsilon Phi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the International honor society for two-year college students. The ceremony also featured remarks by Dr. Chris Ezell, Vice President of Academic and Student Services.

The student inductees included:
City of Danville Residents
William Chase Bridgen
Charlotte D. Brooks
Lonnie Ricky Deshazor
Sarah Lynn Doss
Megan Elizabeth Elgin
Bernard Fitz
Natalie LaToya Fitzgerald
Delores Delvio Ford
Ashley Elizabeth Marie Francisco
Megan Renee Haraway
Hayley Kathryn Looney
Erin Elizabeth Marshall
Lauren Haley Pinekenstein
Hannah Noell Schweitzer
Abigail Brooke Shelton
Ryne Tyler Sigmon
Karli Dae Tate
Lindsey Michelle Thorne
Lakeesha Lawan Watson
Chao Zhou

Pittsylvania County Residents
Erin Nichole Forrest, Blairs
Christopher Kendall, Blairs
Kristopher Joseph Marchick, Blairs
Barry Christopher Wilson, Cascade
Tyler Lee Catron, Gretna
Veronica C’onne Smith, Gretna
Yevette Lynn Southern, Hurt
Randolph Lee Browning, Keeling
Candace Marie Deel, Keeling
Kattie Marie Richardson, Ringgold

Halifax County Residents
Gloria Christine Sadoski, Alton
Christine Brummell Daniel, Clarksville
Tiffany Amber Harrison, South Boston
Hayla Danelle Remines, South Boston

Other Residents
Alex Rene Parras Ayson, Oxnart, CA


The 2013-14 chapter officers are: Abdullah Nasir, President; Laura Gibson, Vice President; Kimberly Poteat, Secretary; Steve Oake, Service Chair; Sherita Howard, Fellowship Chair and Shequilla Crawley, Historian. Chapter advisors are Sherry F. Gott, Associate Professor of English; Christopher J. Pantazis, Instructor of Biology; and Vickie H. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Sociology.


Copyright © 2019  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..