Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



DCC Phi Theta Kappa Spring Inductees Dr. Ramsey honored by Phi Theta Kappa

Danville Community College students were inducted recently in Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for community college students.

Dr. Carlyle Ramsey (second from right) was honored by the Upsilon Phi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, international honor society. Shown are Phi Theta Kappa advisors Vickie Taylor, Dee Drinkard and Sherry Gott.

DANVILLE, VA, February 25, 2013 – Thirty-two Danville Community College students were recently inducted into the DCC chapter (Upsilon Phi) of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year college students. The ceremony also featured remarks by Dr. Carlyle Ramsey, DCC President.

The student inductees included:

City of Danville Residents

Terry James Adams
Randall Wade Atkins
Amanda Bailey
Crystal Michelle Clary
Alysha Renee Clayton
John Edward Collins
Jordan Elizabeth Dallas
Tiffany Brooke Finney
Teresa Michelle Hardy
Sherita Faye Howard
Antony Illa
Phillip Anthony Kallam Jr.
Linda Gale Mack
Ivory Johnson Martin Jr.
Abdullah Nasir
Denise Evans Ore
Quentin Nathaniel Pinchback
Amber Leann Reagan
Holly Elizabeth Standen

Pittsylvania County Residents
Samantha Kristine Childress, Blairs
Kimberly Dawn Poteat, Callands
Danielle Wenonda Griffin, Cascade
Leslie Neal Aaron, Chatham
Angela H. Colins, Chatham
Taylor Blaze Lester, Chatham
Dawn Nicole Webb, Dry Fork
Brandy Holley Eastwood, Keeling
Spencer Calvin Walker, Keeling
Tara Buffington Foster, Ringgold
Karen Samantha Latea Richardson, Ringgold
Michael Lee Slaughter, Ringgold

Halifax County Resident
Maurice Evans Miller, South Boston

The 2012-13 chapter officers are: Cord Cothren, President; Randy Drye, Vice President; Elizabeth Hedrick, Secretary; Francine Stewart, Scholarship Chair; Jacob Stilley and Jonathan Dean, Leadership Co-Chairs; Steve Oake, Service Chair; Laura Gibson, Madeline Hicks and Cecily Talbott, Fellowship Co-Chairs and Stacy Drye, Historian. Chapter advisors are Dee Drinkard, Associate Professor of Psychology; Sherry F. Gott, Associate Professor of English; and Vickie H. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Sociology.


Copyright © 2019  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..