Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



Phi Theta Kappa Fall 2012 Inductees Phi Theta Kappa - Halifax County
 The Fall inductees of Phi Theta Kappa international honor society are shown left to right: (first row) Lauren Bivens, Salita Hairston, Brandye Mille, Stacy Drye, Danelle Snead and Cecily Talbott; (second row) Zoe Moore, Darlene Glass, Ashley Compton, Ebony Hairston, Romaine Knox, Takessa Walker and Christina Davis; (back row) Federica Aversano, Elizabeth Wooding, Andrea Jones, Stormie Carter, Jonathan Dean, Janice Rinker, Laura Gibson and Madeline Hicks.

Halifax County students Elizabeth Wooding of Sutherlin, and Danelle Snead of South Boston, front row, are shown with club advisors: Vickie Taylor, Assistant Professor of Sociology, Dee Drinkard, Associate Professor of Psychology, and Sherry F. Gott, Assistant Professor of English.

DANVILLE, VA, November 19, 2012 – Thirty-two Danville Community College students were recently inducted into the DCC chapter (Upsilon Phi) of Phi Theta Kappa, the International honor society for two-year college students. The ceremony also featured remarks by Dr. Chris Ezell, Vice President of Academic and Student Services, and DCC President Dr. Carlyle Ramsey. In addition, four honorary members, Marian Cothren, Adrian Cothren, Amanda Cothren and Angela Mann were recognized.

The student inductees included:
City of Danville Residents
Amanda Bailey
Willard Caldwell
Stormie Carter
Ashley Compton
Shequilla Crawley
Stacy Drye
Laura Gibson
Geoffrey Grammer
Ebony Hairston
Madeline Hicks
Romaine Knox
Tobias Lutz
Mary Parsons
Cecily Talbott
Takessa Walker
Amber Wolf
Taylor Woodson

Pittsylvania County Residents
Jennifer Boothe, Axton
Darlene Glass, Blairs
Andrea Jones, Blairs
Salita Hairston, Cascade
Jessica Boyd, Dry Fork
Christina Davis, Hurt
Brandye Mills, Ringgold
Janice Rinker, Ringgold
Martha Shelhorse, Ringgold
Lauren Bivens, Sutherlin
Jonathan Dean, Sutherlin

Halifax County Residents
Melissa Mabe, Alton
Roth Elliott, Clarksville
Danelle Snead, South Boston
Elizabeth Wooding, Sutherlin

The 2012-13 chapter officers are: Cord Cothren, President; Randy Drye, Vice President; Elizabeth Hedrick, Secretary; Francine Stewart and Sarah Grammer, Scholarship Co-Chairs; Jacob Stilley, Leadership Chair; Steve Oake and Lord Hudson, Service Co-Chairs; Jan Case, Fellowship Chair and Stacy Drye, Historian. Chapter advisors are Dee Drinkard, Associate Professor of Psychology; Sherry F. Gott, Assistant Professor of English; and Vickie H. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Sociology.


Copyright © 2012  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..