Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



National Technical Honor Society Inductees

National Technical Honor Society members inducted are pictured at the ceremony. Shown from left to right are: (front row) Matthew Barker, Eddie Bennett and Mark Davis; (back row) Justin Elliott, Izaak Jeffers, Jr., Robert Oliver and Marcus Thornton.

DANVILLE, VA, March 22, 2012 – Seventeen Danville Community College students were recently inducted into the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS).  The ceremony featured remarks by Tommy Cannon, Dean of the Business and Engineering Technology Division;  Derick Vicks, Assistant Professor of Air Conditioning and Refrigeration and John Heinrich, Associate Professor of Electrical/Electronics Technology , both NTHS Advisors; along with NTHS President Dwyane Lea of Danville.


The student inductees included:

City of Danville Residents


Matthew Barker

Eddie Bennett

Mark Davis

Justin Elliott

Izaak Jeffers, Jr.

Robert Oliver

Dan Vosberg

Joe Wall



Pittsylvania County Residents

Timothy Robertson, Blairs

Earl Waller, Cascade

Ronald Johnston, Chatham

Derek Barley, Gretna

Jeremy Davis, Gretna

Brandon Dawson, Long Island

Justin Muncy, Penhook

Marcus Thornton, Ringgold

Travis Pressley, Sutherlin


The chapter advisors are John Heinrich, Associate Professor of Electrical/Electronics Technology; Teresa Toler, Electronics Technician II; Derick Vicks, Assistant Professor of Air Conditioning and Refrigeration; and Patricia White, Administrative and Office Specialist II, Engineering Technologies.


Copyright © 2012  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..