Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



Phi Theta Kappa Inductees

 Danville Community College students were recently inducted in Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year college students. The spring inductees are shown left to right: (first row) Mark Rutledge, Jesse Wells, Robert Moore, Marie Burrows, Amber Long, Cord Cothren and Bryant Walton; (second row) Shelby Rigsby, Barry Willner, Wendy Thomas, Anthony Thomas, Francine Stewart, Valerie L. Bowe and Maria Jackson; (third row) Kyle Brandon, Amber Wyatt, Emily Tobin, LaVanda Ward, Jaimie Dix, Elizabeth Hedrick, Sunshine Smith and Sonya Miller; (fourth row) Leslie Garrett, Kaitlyn Fulcher, Ryan Hare, Brittany Pennell, David K. Dixon, Lasheka Kirby, Amie Pickeral and Will Albritton; (back row) Shelbah Adams, Michael E. Ellyson, Kelsey Case, Jan Case and Lisa Richey.

DANVILLE, VA, March 8, 2012 – Forty-three Danville Community College students were recently inducted into the DCC chapter (Upsilon Phi) of Phi Theta Kappa, the International honor society for two-year college students. The ceremony also featured remarks by Charlie W. Adams, III, Professor of Information Systems Technology, and DCC President Dr. Carlyle Ramsey. In addition, three honorary members Terry Crawford, Stacy W. Drye and Stacy Gunn were recognized.

The student inductees included:
City of Danville Residents

Shelbah J. Adams
Brandi Rochelle Akers
Federica Aversano
Valerie L. Bowe
Luisa Silvia Brooks
Janet M. Case
Kelsey Lynn Case
Cord Lonnie Cothren
David Kent Dixon
Kaitlyn Elizabeth Fulcher
Stacie Ann Hardway
Lasheka Monae Kirby
Sonya Millette Miller
Brittany Nicole Pennell
Amie Renee Pickeral
Mark Reece Rutledge
Sunshine Smith
Francine Payne Stewart
Jacob W. Stilley
Emily Hopkins Tobin
Jesse William Wells, Jr.
Barry L. Willner, Jr.
Amber Dawn Wyatt

Pittsylvania County Residents
Elizabeth Anne Hedrick, Callands
Bryant Dwayne Walton, Cascade
Maria Raquel Jackson, Chatham
Shelby Rigsby, Dry Fork
Jaimie Leigh Dix, Ringgold
Michael Dane Driskill, Ringgold
Zoe Kathryn Moore, Ringgold
Lisa Kay Richey, Ringgold

Halifax County Residents
Marie Annette Burrows, Clover
Leslie McPhail Garrett, Halifax
William Albert Albritton, South Boston
Kyle Randall Brandon, South Boston
LaVanda Alyssia Ward, South Boston
Michael E. Ellyson, Sutherlin
Cody Lee Sexton, Sutherlin
Ryan Stanley Hare, Victoria

Other Residents
Robert Moore, Martinsville
Amber Lynn Long, Providence, NC
Anthony Thomas, Providence, NC
Wendy Marie Thomas, Providence, NC

The 2011-12 chapter officers are: Christopher Carter, President; Ryan Williams, Vice President; Amanda Crawford, Secretary; Karen Barksdale and Lord-Christopher Hudson, Scholarship Chairs; Gail Jones, Leadership Chair; Steve Oake and Anthony Gunn, Service Chairs; Wendy Brannock and Vicky Arrington, Fellowship Chairs and Maxine Powell, Historian. Chapter advisors are Dee Drinkard, Associate Professor of Psychology; Sherry F. Gott, Associate Professor of English; and Vickie H. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Sociology.


Copyright © 2012  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..