Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



Alpha Beta Gamma initiates

Danville Community College recently initiated 39 students in the Iota Zeta Chapter of Alpha Beta Gamma business honor society. The initiates are shown at the ceremony held recently. Left to right, are: (seated): Carol Patrice Ross-Betts, Kimberly Jones, Crystal Lee Jefferson, Shelbah J. Adams, Francine P. Stewart, Valerie L. Bowe, Lisa Ann Wolfe, and Karen McCoy Cleary; (standing): Faculty Advisors Linda Wilborne and Dr. Vince Decker, Brent J. Oake, Danelle R. Snead, Amanda Hazelwood Martin, Tasia Harris, Teresa D. Glass, Chauncey O. Wilson, Eric Alexander Davey, David K. Dixon, Rufus Donell Jones, Mark McCraney, Thomas S. Thompson, Ivory Martin, Mark R. Rutledge, Michael T. Nelson and faculty advisors David Bonebright and Charlie Adams.

DANVILLE, VA, March 20, 2012 – Thirty-nine Danville Community College students were recently initiated into the DCC chapter (Iota Zeta) of Alpha Beta Gamma. The International Business honor society was established in 1970 to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year business and professional college students. The society is a member of The Association of College Honor Societies and has initiated more than 65,500 members.

To be eligible for the honor society, initiates must have a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 in the courses for their business-related major and at least a 3.0 overall GPA. Majors of the initiates represent the following associate degree programs: Accounting, Administrative Support Technology, Business Management, Business Administration, Information Systems Technology, Marketing and Technical Studies.

The 2012 initiates include:

City of Danville Residents
Shelbah J. Adams
Brandi Rochelle Akers
Valerie L. Bowe
Janet M. Case
Karen McCoy Cleary
Eric Alexander Davey
Michael Wayne Dickerson
David K. Dixon
Lindsay Danielle Gordon
Tasia Bonea Harris
Kevin Darnell Jackson
Rufus Donell Jones
Kimberly Sue Jones
Rose L. Marotta
Ivory Martin
Gary D. Matherly
Mark McCraney
Alesia Hubert McNeeley
Michael T. Nelson
Brent Oake
Mark R. Rutledge
Francine P. Stewart
Thomas S. Thompson
Dulce Maria Torres Rios
Jayson Andrew Walker
Lisa Ann Wolfe

Pittsylvania County Residents
Connie J. Moore, Chatham
Shannon M. Robertson, Chatham
Darlene P. Bray, Dry Fork
Chauncey O. Wilson, Dry Fork
Carol Patrice Ross-Betts, Gretna
Michael Dane Driskill, Ringgold
Teresa D. Glass, Ringgold

Anthony Gunn, Ringgold
Crystal Lee Jefferson, Ringgold

Halifax County Residents
Amanda Hazelwood Martin, Clover
Nicole Perkins Fisher, Halifax
Davante LaShawn Brooks, South Boston
Danelle R. Snead, South Boston

Chapter advisors are Charlie Adams, Professor of Information Systems Technology; David Bonebright, Professor of Marketing and Business Management; Dr. Vince Decker, Professor of Business Management; and Linda Wilborne, Assistant Professor of Business Management.


Copyright © 2012  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..