Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



Phi Theta Kappa inductees

Danville Community College 2011 fall inductees and club officers are shown, left to right  (first row): Sarah Anne Cosner, Kayce Catherine Elliott, Jessica Lexin Powell, Sarah Elizabeth Grammer and Lacy Anne Spence; (second row): LaKisha Lashawna Kennedy, Mary Leigh Harr, Stacey C. Grammer, and Kathleen Cecile Moore; (third row): LaTrevia Trevel’ Hairston, Crystal Lee Jefferson, Gail Lipscomb Blackwell and Jessica Lynn Hancock; (fourth row): Paula Jean Williams, Sebreta Deloris Robinson, Kylita LaTwanya Chattin and Hannah Marie Irby; (fifth row): Taylor Renee Hayden, Samantha Morgan Purgason, and Randy Franklin Drye; (sixth row): Lord-Christopher George Hudson, Alesia Diane McNeely, Shelly Annette Damiani and Jennifer C. Thomas; (seventh row): Anthony Scott Gunn, Michael Wayne Dickerson and Carrie Virginia Smith; (eighth row): Steve Oake (officer) and April Love Condon; (ninth row): Brenda Loretta Simms and Chris Carter (officer); (tenth row): Ryan Williams (officer), and Amanda Crawford (officer); and (back row): Wendy Brannock (officer) and Vicky Arrington (officer).

DANVILLE, VA, October 13, 2011 – Thirty-six Danville Community College students were recently inducted into the DCC chapter (Upsilon Phi) of Phi Theta Kappa, the International honor society for two-year college students. The ceremony also featured remarks by Dr. Paul Fox, Dean of the Arts and Sciences Division, and DCC President Dr. Carlyle Ramsey. In addition, Fox was named an honorary member.

The inductees included:
City of Danville Residents
Gail Lipscomb Blackwell
Kylita LaTwanya Chattin
April Love Condon
Shelly Annette Damiani
Michael Wayne Dickerson
Randy Franklin Drye
Kayce Catherine Elliott
Katie Leigh Gignac
Laura Kathryn Gignac
Sarah Elizabeth Grammer
Stacey C. Grammer
Jessica Lynn Hancock
Taylor Renee Hayden
LaKisha Lashawna Kennedy
Alesia Diane McNeely
Michael Christopher McNeely
Kathleen Cecile Moore
Jessica Lexin Powell
Samantha Morgan Purgason
Carrie Virginia Smith
Joe Wayne Wall

Pittsylvania County Residents
Stephanie Moser Burton, Blairs
LaTrevia Trevel’ Hairston, Cascade
Vicky Lynn Robertson, Chatham
Sarah Anne Cosner, Dry Fork
Mary Leigh Harr, Dry Fork (legacy member)
Lord-Christopher George Hudson, Dry Fork
Hannah Marie Irby, Dry Fork
Sebreta Deloris Robinson, Gretna
Anthony Scott Gunn, Ringgold
Crystal Lee Jefferson, Ringgold

Halifax County Residents
Lacy Anne Spence, Alton
Timothy Hoover Rinehart, South Boston

Other Residents
Brenda Loretta Simms, Martinsville
Paula Jean Williams, Martinsville
Jennifer C. Thomas, Milton, NC

The 2011-12 chapter officers are: Christopher Carter, President; Ryan Williams, Vice President; Amanda Crawford, Secretary; Amber Moser, Scholarship Chair; Gail Jones, Leadership Chair; Steve Oake, Service Chair; Wendy Brannock, Fellowship Chair and Maxine Powell, Historian. Chapter advisors are Dee Drinkard, Associate Professor of Psychology; Sherry F. Gott, Associate Professor of English; and Vickie H. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Sociology.


Copyright © 2011  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..