Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



Danville Community College students inducted in the Upsilon Phi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa are shown at a ceremony held recently. Left to right, are: (first row): Bill Wooding III, Lisa Wolfe, Emily Smith and Vicky Thompson Arrington; (second row): Amber Moser, Grace Myers, Sheron Welch and Kathy Taylor; (third row): Daniel Ricketts, Felicia Deshazor, Amanda Crawford, Angela Snow and Linda Durham; (fourth row):Gail Jones, Jessica Lilly and Ryan Williams; (fifth row): Johnny Griffin, Darren Brady and Toloria Griffin; (sixth row) Holly Vicks, Emilee Williams, Karen Barksdale and Aaron Witter; (seventh row) Jeffery Piercy, Christopher Carter and Robert Ballard; (eighth row) Steve Oake, Beth Dixon and Keith Inge; (back row) Lechia Davis and Benjamin Tucker.

DANVILLE, VA, April 11, 2011 – Thirty-eight Danville Community College students were recently inducted into the DCC chapter (Upsilon Phi) of Phi Theta Kappa, the International honor society for two-year college students. Dr. Janet Laughlin, Dean of the Student Success and Academic Advancement Division, was the keynote speaker. In addition, Laughlin was inducted as an honorary member.

The inductees included:

City of Danville Residents
Robert Wright Ballard
Karen O. Barksdale
Darren Lee Brady
Amanda Renee Crawford
Lechia Davis
Felicia Roberts Deshazor
Olivia Alexandra Grekos
Johnny B. Griffin
Toloria Ann Griffin
Keith Christopher Inge
Gail Roland Jones
Debra R. Kreger
Rose Louise Marotta
Jacob Morgan Nunn
Steven Fredrick Oake
Jeffrey Todd Piercy
Kevin Allen Rhodes
Ashleigh Nicole Scolpini
Sheron Yvette Welch
Emilee Williams
Ryan Demetrius Williams
Aaron Ray Witter
Lisa Ann Wolfe

Pittsylvania County Residents
Christopher Michael Carter, Axton
Vicky Thompson Arrington, Blairs
Angela Dawn Snow, Blairs
Daniel Allen Ricketts, Chatham
Kathy S. Taylor, Chatham
Linda V. Durham, Dry Fork
Jessica Lynn Lilly, Gretna
Amber Dawn Moser, Gretna
Grace Ellen Myers, Gretna
Benjamin Robert Tucker, Gretna
Beth Fuqua Dixon, Keeling
Scotty Lane Young, Keeling
Holly J. Vicks, Ringgold

Halifax County Residents
Emily Elisabeth Smith, Nathalie
William Reese Wooding III, South Boston

The 2011 chapter officers are: Craig Warren, President; Patricia Crider, Vice President; Andrea Cockman, Secretary; Dawn Brooks and Angela Snow, Scholarship Chairs; Ashley Rinn, Leadership Chair; Dwayne Martin, Chad Hancock, and Steve Oake, Service Chairs; and Elizabeth Hundley, Wendy Brannock, and Maxine Powell, Fellowship Chairs. Chapter advisors are Dee Drinkard, Assistant Professor of Psychology; Sherry F. Gott, Assistant Professor of English; and Vickie H. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Sociology.


Copyright © 2011  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..