Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



Amos Ajo Jr. received the Dr. Doyle J. Thomas Award for Academic Excellence

Evonda Thornton was the  recipient of the Fred A. Lloyd III Memorial Award.

DANVILLE, Va., May 14, 2010 – Twenty-seven Danville Community College students and 124 high school seniors from the City of Danville and Halifax and Pittsylvania counties were honored recently at the 24th Annual Academic Excellence Awards Program for Minority Students.

The program, sponsored by DCC’s Alliance for Excellence, was held at the Cherrystone Missionary Baptist Association Center in Ringgold. The event featured greetings and remarks by Dr. Chris Ezell, Vice President for Academic and Student Services; Danville City Schools Superintendent Dr. Sue Davis; Pittsylvania County Schools Superintendent James McDaniel; and Leon N. Johnson III, Director of Pupil Personnel Services for Halifax County Public Schools. The guest speaker was Tawann Perry, a motivational speaker who uses his personal experiences and proven methods to help students successfully prepare, lead and stay in college.

Amos V. Ajo, Jr., who resides in Danville, is the 16th recipient of the Outstanding Student Award, presented in memory of Dr. Doyle J. Thomas Sr., a former Danville City Council member and community leader who was a long-time DCC supporter. Amos, the son of Amos Sr. and Donna Ajo, is also the first graduate of DCC’s new Associate of Science Degree program in Engineering, which is through a partnership with the Engineers Produced in Virginia Initiative. At the age of 18, he plans to transfer to the University of Virginia, where he will continue his engineering studies.

Evonda Thornton, Education Support Specialist III in DCC’s Admissions Office, received the Alliance For Excellence Fred A. Lloyd III Memorial Plaque. Thornton, a 1996 graduate of DCC with an Associate of Applied Science Degree, has been employed at the College for 20 years. She was honored for her service to DCC and support of the Alliance for Excellence program.

The DCC students recognized for academic excellence were: Amos V. Ajo Jr., Jean E. Alfred, Jr., Anthony Bigelow, Gary M. Carrington, Shalunda N. Glymph, Trena D. Hamlin, Jackquelyn Harrell, Pamela B. Hyman, Maxine Jackson, Donna N. Jones, James M. Lipscomb, Terita M. Martin, Avery Morrison, Betty J. Wilson, Camilia Witcher and Tia L. Yancey, all of Danville; Rodney K. Clements, Gretna; Donald L. Lovelace, Gretna; and Remus Shelton, Jr., Blairs; Cottey L. Chappell, Jr., Annette Faulkner, Charlene H. Lee, and Annie L. Overbey, all of Halifax; and Deanna Grant, Ann S. Johnson, Darlene C. Ragland, and Latacha K. Reaves, all of South Boston.

Area graduating seniors also were recognized for academic achievement.

City of Danville senior honor students recognized include:
George Washington High School – Brionna Adams, Patricia Carter, Dominique Compton, Erica Dabney, O’Neisha Edmonds, Lauren Fountain, Jazmin Glass, Briana Greene, Amara Gregory, Camesha Goods, Nadine Greene-Hicks, Shanice Jordan, Jeshad Marable, Kevin Miller, Antoinette Murray, Kameryn Pritchett, Stefanie Reid, Destiny Richmond, Brandi Shelton, Emmanuel Smith, Carl Terry Jr., Kymmisa Walker, Amber Whitlock, Ryan Williams, and Hope Winfield.


John M. Langston Focus Center – Kiara Legrand and Jasmine Wade


Galileo Magnet High School –Courtney Akers, Austin Bowen and Jazmine Willard.

Pittsylvania County senior honor students recognized include:
Chatham High School – Matthew Craft, Shakyla Davis, Marcus Hairston, Madison McCullough, Jasmine McLaughlin, Andrea Robertson, Erique Pool, Ashley Thompson, and Joshua Witcher.

Dan River High School – Jasmine Booth, Tynesha Breedlove, Quintara Brooks, Isaac Clement, Terrell Davis, Shemeka Day, Demetrius Dickerson, Kevin Eldridge, Shameka Ferrell, Andrea Fitzgerald, DeVante` Fitzgerald, Keturah Fitzgerald, Dominique Garrett, Quincy Gunter, Lakeisha Henry, Breanna Jones, Chasty Medley, Reginald Myers Jr., Adonis Nibblett, Kara Smith, Reginald Stone, Elquondra Walker, Keanna White and Courtney Williams.

Gretna High School – Ke`Annah Austin, Antoria Brown, Tierra Carter, Sharlicia Chambers, Qadirah Coles, Vatavia Crews, Jacob Davis, Thalia Davis, Trevor Glass, Justin Martin, Marcquis Miller, and Nigel Word.

Tunstall High School –Deonsha Carroll, Stephanie Ferrell, Ebony Hairston, Shamese Jackson, Kaneatria Logan, Janessa Reid, Latia Royal and Krystal Woods.

Halifax County honor students recognized include:
Halifax County Senior High School: Maryam Abdul-Kareem, Malcolm Beverly, Amber Brooks, Demetrius Burrell, Annika Butler, Daniesha Carr, Danielle Crews, Deonta Crowder, Apryl Cunningham, Chavis Edmonds, Tanisha Evans, Bridget Featherston, Java Gooden, Chaquetta Guthrie, Keith Gutrich, Caitlyn Henderson, Lamar Holmes, Tasha Holt, Kiara Howard, John Jackson, Blair Jeffress, Shamiya Majors, Paris Mangum, Shakiyla Moses, Tyiesha Pannell, D’Quan Penick, D’Ron Penick, Patrick Prophet, Diamond Reed, Lashawn Richardson, Christine Shelton, Jasmine Thomas, Latasha Wade, Christopher Watson, Brandi Winstead, Keisha Womack, Indira Wood, Jalessa Yancey and Miyisha Younger.

Alliance for Excellence is a partnership between Danville Community College and area churches. Its goal is to promote and enhance higher educational opportunities for minorities in Danville, Pittsylvania County and Halifax County. For more information about the program, contact the College, or click here.


Copyright © 2010  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..