Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



Danville Community College students inducted in the Iota Zeta Chapter of Alpha Beta Gamma, business honor society are shown with their advisors at a ceremony held recently. Shown left to right, are: seated First Row: Linda Durham, Kasey White, LaTasha Brandon, Stephanie Jones, Patricia Jackson and Sharon Rodgers; standing (center rows): Anthony Ventrice, Thelma Huffman, Patricia Dorsey, Jeffrey Van Ness, Christie Stanley, Daniel Ricketts, Deborah Batten, Todd Kidd, Teresa Beale, Kevin Markworth, Sandy Doss, James Joyce, Christina Callands-Estes, Aaron Roberts, Doris Pool, Shannon White, David Hyler, Linda Wilborne (Faculty Advisor), Kyle White and Johnny Willis; (Back Row): David Bonebright (Faculty Advisor) and Vince Decker (Faculty Advisor).

DANVILLE, VA, March 17, 2010 – Twenty-nine Danville Community College students were recently inducted into the DCC chapter (Iota Zeta) of Alpha Beta Gamma, the International Business honor society, established in 1970 to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year business and professional college students. The society is a member of The Association of College Honor Societies and has initiated more than 65,500 members.

To be eligible for this new DCC honor society, Inductees must have a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 in the courses for their business-related major and at least a 3.0 overall GPA. Students majoring in the following associate degree programs are eligible for consideration: Business Management, Business Administration, Marketing, Information Systems Technology, and Administrative Support Technology.

The inductees include:
City of Danville Residents
Deborah Batten
Teresa Beale
Latasha Brandon
Patricia Dorsey
Thelma Huffman
David Hyler
James Joyce
Michael Kidd
Dorothy Ellen Parker
Sharon Rodgers
Kyle White

Pittsylvania County Residents
Doris Pool, Blairs
Anthony Ventrice, Blairs
Johnny Willis, Cascade
Christina Callands Estes, Chatham
Harold Moore, Chatham
Daniel Ricketts, Chatham
Jeffrey Van Ness, Chatham
William Doss, Dry Fork
Linda Durha, Dry Fork
Sandy Doss, Gretna
Kasey White, Keeling
Christie Stanley, Ringgold
Susie Weatherford, Ringgold
Shannon White, Sutherlin

Halifax County Residents
Aaron Roberts, Halifax
Stephanie Jones, Vernon Hill

Other Resident
Kevin Markworth, Pelham, NC

The chapters charter members are: Timothy R. Beard, President; Mary B. Jones, Vice President; Tia Yancey; Donna Jones; Shelby Hill; Anne Hunt and Deborah White. Chapter advisors are Charlie Adams, Professor of Information Systems Technology; David Bonebright, Associate Professor of Marketing and Business Management; Vince Decker, Professor of Business Management; and Linda Wilborne, Assistant Professor of Business Management.


Copyright © 2010  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..