Staff Contact:

Andrea J. Burney, APR

Director of  Public Relations



Danville Community College students who were recently inducted in Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year college students, are shown left to right (first row, seated): Benjamin Langley, Latasha Brandon, Tiemba Poteat, Melonie Davis, Jennifer Carter, Cierra McGhee, Traneau King, Stacie Wilson, Susan Mize, Matthew Barker; (second row): Lorilee Davis, Maxine Jackson, Jenna Geiger, Karen Stallard, Betty Dixon, Caitlin Wells, Caroline Wood, Rebecca Stevens, Johnny Willis and Bobby Huffman; (standing): Timothy Clark, Mary Cosby, Darlene Ragland, Carrie Scearce, Rosa Henderson, Jennifer Hampton, William Jones, Latacha Reaves, Rosalee Britton, Ashley Hodge, Dustin Pierce and Levonya Covington.

DANVILLE, VA, April 5, 2010 – Forty Danville Community College students were recently inducted into the DCC chapter (Upsilon Phi) of Phi Theta Kappa, the International honor society for two-year college students. The ceremony also featured remarks by Vickie H. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Sociology, and a chapter advisor. The DCC chapter is also celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2010.

The inductees included:

City of Danville Residents
Matthew Douglas Barker
Jennifer Denise Carter
Levonya Faye Covington
Lorilee Danielle Davis
Jenna Michael Geiger
Jennifer Kay Hampton
Matthew David Hyler
Maxine Cardwell Jackson
William Henry Jones
Benjamin Gerald Langley
Whitney Diane Minter
Cierra McGhee
Rachel Marie Nanney
Dustin Hamlett Pierce
Tiemba L. Poteat
Carrie Elizabeth Scearce
Karen Bernard Stallard
Caitlin Blake Wells
Stacie Elizabeth Wilson
Caroline Taylor Wood

Pittsylvania County Residents
Susan Mize, Callands
Bobby Daryl Huffman, Cascade
Johnny Lee Willis, Cascade
Rosa Leigh Henderson, Dry Fork
Kristin Ann Herndon, Dry Fork
Betty Mae Dixon, Java
Traneau Whitney King, Ringgold
Rebecca Leigh Stevens, Ringgold

Halifax County Residents
Joshua Dean Hooper, Alton
Michael Matthew Clay, Halifax
Mary Beth Cosby, Halifax
Latacha Katherine Reaves, Halifax
Valerie Denise Carden, Scottsburg
Rosalee Leicester Britton, South Boston
Timothy Michael Clark, South Boston
Ashley Renee Hodge, South Boston
Alissia Carol Keaton, South Boston
Darlene Ragland, South Boston
Jessica Carol Hodnett, Sutherlin

Other Resident
Kenneth Wayne Hagler, Milton, NC

The 2010-11 chapter officers are: Janelle Sampson, President; Samantha Tyson, Vice President; Christie Stanley, Secretary; Bilal Muhammad, Treasurer; Ryan Wilkinson and Cristina Aversano, Scholarship Chairs; Alen Vincent, Leadership Chair; Camilia Witcher and Matt Doss, Service Chairs; and Ellen Parker, Jackie Harrell, and Demeta Murphy, Fellowship Chairs. Chapter advisors are Dee Drinkard, Assistant Professor of Psychology; Sherry F. Gott, Assistant Professor of English; and Vickie H. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Sociology.


Copyright © 2010  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  TTY: 434.797.8542  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence..