For Immediate Release

DCC Students Honored At Annual Awards Ceremony

Barksdale Honors Scholarships

James Bustard Scholarships

Southside Virginia Society for Human Resource Development

Danville-area residents receiving awards

Pittsylvania County-area residents receiving awards

Halifax County-area residents receiving awards

North Carolina-area resident receiving award

Bob Stinespring Jr. Memorial Award

Danville Virginia Tech Scholarship

DANVILLE, VA, May 5, 2009 – Sixty five Danville Community College students were honored recently at the 12th Annual Awards, Recognition and Reception. The students were recognized for their leadership and community service, academic skills and their work with clubs and other campus organizations.

The guest speaker was Dr. H. James Owen, Jr., President of Piedmont (NC) Community College. Awards were presented by Peter Castiglione, Director of Student Development and Enrollment Management; Cathy Pulliam, Coordinator of Student Recruitment and Enrollment Management; Buddy Rawley, Director of Development; Dr. Edward White, Dean of the Business and Engineering Technologies Division; and Dr. Mark Wallace, DCC Assistant Professor of History. Dr. Chris Ezell, Vice President of Academic and Student Services, recognized club sponsors, while DCC President Dr. Carlyle Ramsey provided welcoming remarks.

In addition, the following representatives of area organizations presented scholarship awards: Lorri Sampson, President, Kiwanis Club of Danville, Inc; Stephanie Fitz, President, Virginia Tech Alumni Association; and Felicia Rizens, President of the Southside Virginia Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) More than $35,500 in scholarship awards were also presented to the following students who are planning to transfer to four-year universities.

The students honored and their awards are:

Barksdale Honors
Hannah Bennett, Axton, $3,500
Viljena Makovejeva, Danville, $2,000
Bobby Roach, Dry Fork, $1,422
Brent Royal, Danville, $4,000

Bob Stinespring, Jr. Memorial
Emily Reed, Danville, $700

DCC Delius-Rorrer History
Travis Jacobs, Danville, $100

James Bustard Scholarships
Timothy Beard, Danville, $1,500
Heather Cassady, Pelham, NC, $2,000
Anthony Hairston, Danville, $1,500
Charlene Pope, Chatham, $3,000
Ryan Brooks Riddlesperger, Dry Fork, $4,000
Timothy Robertson, Blairs, $3,000
Amanda Yates, Danville, $3,000

Danville Virginia Tech Alumni
Emily Reed, Danville, $750

James T. Catlin, Jr. – Kiwanis
Elvia Grijalva-Hogan, Danville, $1,500

McGovern General Excellency
Wendy Brooks, Danville, $555

Southside Virginia Society for Human Resource Management
Wendy Brooks, Danville, $500
Krystal Caddle, South Boston, $500

Other students were recognized at the ceremony for their leadership in various College clubs and organizations. The clubs included: African-American Culture, Baseball, Better Earth & Animal Treatment Society, Collegiate Entrepreneurs’Organization, Dental Hygienist, Future Educators, Gospel Ensemble, Graphics, Honors Program, International Association of Administrative Professionals, Japanese Cultural, Justice Club, National Technical Honor Society, Networking Tech, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society), Photography, Practical Nursing, Sigma Delta Kappa (International English Honor Society), Student Government Association, and Who’s Who in American Junior Colleges.

Students from the City of Danville:
Timothy Beard
Natalie Bethel
Kimberly Crews
Dionne Daniels
Morris Deshazor
John Fields
Elvia Grijalva- Hogan
Mary Jones
Arthur Lands
Viljena Makovejeva
Tamika Mayo
Gary McDaniel
Jessica McElwee
Tara Murphy
Dorothy (Ellen) Parker
Christine Piper
Melinda Reid
Shirley Reid
Brent Royal
Janelle Sampson
Charles Tanner
Samantha Tyson
Ernest Vincent
Kevin Walker
Tameka Walton
Bettye White
Camilia Witcher
Brandi Wooton
Tia Yancy
Amanda Yates

Students from Pittsylvania County:
Margaret Bracken, Chatham
Selina Cole, Chatham
Teresa Glass, Ringgold
Joseph Kelly, Dry Fork
Amber Marshall, Ringgold
Amanda McKenzie, Chatham
Russell Moon, Ringgold
Ryan Brooks Riddlesperger, Dry Fork
Bobby Roach, Dry Fork
Charles Terrell, Sutherlin
Deborah White, Chatham
Allison Witcher, Pittsville
Darlene Witcher, Pittsville

Students from Halifax County:
Andrew Adkins, Alton
Joshua Beggarly, South Boston
Kelly Clark, South Boston
Michael Clay, South Boston
Anne Hunt, South Boston
Lydia Lowery, South Boston
Joseph Rogers, South Boston
Page Seate, Jr., Nelson
Alan Taylor, Alton
Shawn Wilborn, Virgilina

Students recognized from nearby areas:
Heather Cassady, Pelham, NC
Jason Dodson, Midlothian
James Dudding, Pembroke
Tuyen Nguyen, Salem

Copyright © 2009  by Danville Community College

1008 South Main St., Danville, VA 24541  |  434.797.2222  |  434.688.0136 (vp)  |  FAX: 434.797.8514  |  Toll-Free: 1.800.560.4291
 Danville Community College promotes and maintains educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, sex, ethnicity, religion, gender, age (except when age is a bona fide occupational qualification), disability, national origin, or other non-merit factors. Danville Community College prohibits sexual harassment including sexual violence.